The Knitmap will divide Scotland into 6 regions:

  • Northern Isles
  • North East
  • Highlands and Western Isles
  • Central
  • South West
  • South East

Pins in each region will identify businesses, objects, and worker experience. These examples will provide a broad comparison of regional differences in the design and production of knitwear across Scotland and links to the project’s key themes.

Outline map of Scotland with the land region filled in using one of knitted patterns designed by the University of Glasgow Knitter-in-Residence